Cocktail by Gorilla Perfume

Cocktail

Decadence and elegance, bottled.

If you took fresh lavender and crushed it in your hands then the intense aroma released would be reminiscent of the top notes of Cocktail, Gorilla Perfume’s homage to classic French perfumery. Reluctant as I was to try a perfume containing lavender (the unfortunate connotation of it being the kind of thing that only older women wear), the other notes tempted and intrigued me…

The lavender is swiftly replaced by a floral impression that is composed of a host of delightful flowers, including ylang ylang, jasmine, rose and orange blossom. The perfume also features cananga, the oil of which is similar to full-bodied ylang ylang, and is said to smell both woody and soapy. Indeed, on my skin there is an undeniable soapiness, with delicate rose and jasmine nuances. The jasmine perfectly complements the rose, making the latter a lot more sensual than it normally is. The dominant note in Cocktail, ylang ylang, has many facets, ranging from banana to rich floral. The fruit is more prominent on my skin; I get dried banana and a tiny hint of floral. Sandalwood and oakmoss reside in the base, adding gloriously warm and sweet qualities. There is also a slightly herby character that adds a bit of edginess to the otherwise feminine impression of the scent.

It’s really hard to describe this perfume accurately as it’s unlike anything I’ve smelt before. When I first tried it I wasn’t incredibly keen on it – I found it a bit too overpowering and thought the powdery quality of it was too prominent. However, after wearing it several times it really grew on me, and I now embrace its distinctive impression!

I think that if you were to bottle classic French perfumery then you would undoubtedly get a scent similar to Cocktail. It’s an initially powerful floral that gradually fades into powdery and subtly herbal sweetness. It’s an incredibly intriguing perfume, and one that I continue to question every time I wear it.

Click here for more perfume reviews and news.

Have you ever tried Cocktail? What did you think of it? Let us know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Cocktail by Gorilla Perfume

Leave a Reply

