La Petite Robe Noire by Guerlain

La Petite Robe Noire

A decadent cherry delight.

A gift for Valentine’s Day, La Petite Robe Noire is my first Guerlain fragrance, and none of their other perfumes have delighted my nose as much as this one. When I first spritzed it on the skin an unfamiliar note of black cherry was released, one which I found to be more pleasing on the nose compared to other fruit notes – it’s less of a fresh smell, and more of a sensual one. Berries and almonds follow closely behind, respectively adding hints of bounciness and sweet creaminess.

Following a truly delicious opening, rose and subtle liquorice combine with the ever-present cherry, resulting in a modern floral heart. I’ve seen some say that the liquorice is quite dominant, but for somebody who really doesn’t like it’s often harsh quality, I didn’t find it offensive at all. I think it complements the cherry and rose perfectly. Cherry and liquorice remain as the perfume reaches its conclusion, but black tea adds a further smoky sensuality to the scent’s impression that’s perfect if you’re wearing La Petite Robe Noire in the evening. I can also detect subtle nuances of tonka bean and vanilla in the base, whilst I’ve seen others also note aniseed and patchouli.

La-Petite-Robe-Noire-de-Guerlain-2012-2

A review of this perfume cannot be written without noting its beautiful bottle. Guerlain’s classic elegance and heart-shaped bottle is captured perfectly in the design, which has a flirtier edge as a Parisian chic black dress features on a backdrop of dusky pink fading into black. However, despite this and the delightful fragrance inside it, I was left disappointed by how long this perfume lasted on the skin. As it’s a Guerlain fragrance I was expecting it to last for a really long time, but I find it almost undetectable after around 4 hours.

I’ve been reading a lot of reviews of La Petite Robe Noire, and it seems to have a lot of contrasting opinions. Some say that it lasts more than 8 hours on their skin, whilst I find it lasts half of this. Others have said that it’s incredibly strong, and whilst it is perhaps a little overwhelming when first applied, I think it very quickly settles and becomes a lot more subtle. Of course, perfume smells different on everybody, but I seem to have quite an opposing opinion to most. For me, it isn’t an overwhelmingly sweet and long-lasting fragrance, but an initially decadently rich and fruity one which quickly becomes subtly floral and delicately sweet, with an ever-present undertone of black cherry.

Decadent and elegant, this is a fine fragrance that’s contemporary, and a great first Guerlain fragrance. It’s beautiful to look at, and glorious to smell, but it’s certainly not as perfect as I first expected it to be.

Have you tried La Petite Robe Noire? Are there any Guerlain fragrances that you really love or would like to try? Leave a reply and let us know.

Click here for more perfume reviews and news.

8 thoughts on “La Petite Robe Noire by Guerlain

  1. Dear P&P
    The Dandy couldn’t bear this on first attempt, but is gradually coming to think of it indulgently, like a somewhat errant godchild or ward.
    I would urge you though… please don;t give up on the rest of Guerlain just yet, you might prefer LPRN now, but I’m sure over time the true masterpieces in the collection will reveal themselves to you…
    Yours ever
    The Perfumed Dandy

    1. Dear Dandy,
      From other reviews that we’ve read, this seems to be a fragrance that most either love or hate on first impression.
      We certainly won’t be giving up on Guerlain; we’re actually very intrigued about Eau de Cologne Imperiale that you posted about earlier. Looking forward to reading your review of it…
      Kelly & Gemma, xo

  2. Thanks for this helpful review – I tried it quickly at Sephora once, not expecting to like it based on the fact that it was in Sephora 😉 but I did like it and thought I should investigate more. After this review, I definitely will!

    1. Glad the review helped! Let us know if you buy it, and tell us what you think – it would be great to know if any of the different notes are more apparent on different skins.
      Kelly & Gemma, xo

  3. I love the bottle and adore the commercials! So whimsical and evocative of Paris. However when it comes to the perfume it is too sweet for my taste. My favorite Guerlain perfumes are Mitsouko, Habit Rouge and L’Instant de Guerlain Pour Homme. I am with The Dandy on not giving up on Guerlain. It is an amazing perfume house. I find the Eau de Cologne Imperiale to be my go to after bath spritz. It’s short life span is perfect to going from after bath to the perfume of the day layered over it.

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting! L’Instant sounds amazing – I’ll have to try and find it somewhere (it’s so hard to find a wide variety of Guerlain fragrances on the high street!). I think perhaps I’m more suited towards Guerlain’s ‘male’ fragrances (La Petite aside…) – I’ve not found another ‘female’ one that I like yet. Gemma, xo

Leave a Reply

